What is TCBF?

What is the Theatre Community Benevolent Fund?

TCBF provides financial relief in a confidential, respectful manner to individual and non-profit organizational members of StageSource facing extreme illness, catastrophic acts of nature, and other events such vandalism/theft, and who have limited or no resources with which to handle such occurrences. The fund recognizes the essential value of artists and arts organizations to society, and treats all applicants with dignity, discretion, and compassion.

Click here to find out how to apply for aid.

In the Fall of 1997, a Boston-area artist became ill with a life-threatening condition.  The theater community decided to throw a party in order to raise funds to help with medical expenses.  The Big Easy nightclub opened its doors free of charge for this event, and actors, producers, writers, designers, directors, and managers all donated their time, money, and expertise.  The party was an unqualified success.  Out of that experience arose the idea to create an organization to aid members of the Boston area theater community who are in dire need and do not have the financial resources to meet those needs.  That organization is the Theatre Community Benevolent Fund.The first directors and officers of TCBF were Polly Hogan and Ron Ritchell, founders of the Lyric Stage and Lyric West Theatre, and Mary C. Huntington, founding artistic director of The Nora Theatre Company.  The first substantial contributor was the Boston Theatre Marathon, established by Kate Snodgrass, Artistic Director of Boston Playwrights’ Theatre, for the dual purpose of promoting the area’s wealth of playwrights and of contributing to the Fund.  In order for the Fund to grow and be more effective, the directors approached StageSource to assist with management of the Fund.  Through this partnership, both organizations benefit by being better service providers, and the theater community has a strong resource to turn to in times of trouble.

The Board

TCBF is run by a volunteer board of members of the Boston Theatre Community.  The current board consists of:

  • Amy Spalletta, President
  • Robert D. Murphy, Vice President
  • Karen Perlow, Treasurer
  • Ilyse Robbins, clerk
  • Larry Coen
  • Olivia D’Ambrosio
  • Patrick Gabridge
  • Micah Greene
  • Mary C. Huntington
  • Maureen Lane
  • Ginger Lazarus
  • Alex Lonati
  • Bill Mootos
  • Sarah Newhouse
  • David Remedios
  • Brian Robinson
  • Cheryl Singleton
  • Alexandra Smith


Comments are closed.